Ashtakavarga, An In-Depth Exploration


Ashtakavarga is a unique and sophisticated system within Vedic astrology that offers a detailed method for assessing planetary strength and influence in an individual’s life. Unlike the more commonly known techniques that focus solely on the positions of planets in a natal chart, Ashtakavarga evaluates the interaction and support of planets across various houses and signs. This system is instrumental in predicting the results of planetary periods (Dashas), transits, and other significant events.

Origins and Concept

The term “Ashtakavarga” is derived from two Sanskrit words: “Ashta,” meaning eight, and “Varga,” meaning division. It refers to the division of the zodiac into eight different segments for each planet, with the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, and the Ascendant (Lagna) being the focal points.

The core concept of Ashtakavarga involves evaluating the strength of planets based on their placements in relation to each other. Each planet, including the Ascendant, contributes to the strength of other planets by assigning positive or negative points (Bindus or Rekhas) to different houses. These points are then used to create a detailed and nuanced analysis of the horoscope.

Let us know about Astrologer K.M. Structure of Ashtakvarga by Sinha

Ashtakavarga is structured around two main components: Bhinnashtakavarga (individual planetary scores) and Sarvashtakavarga (cumulative scores).

Bhinnashtakavarga: This component focuses on the individual scores given by each planet to the twelve houses of the natal chart. Each planet’s interaction with other planets and its position in the chart determines the points it awards to different houses. These points range from 0 to 8 and reflect the planet’s ability to influence a particular house positively or negatively.

Sarvashtakavarga: This is the cumulative score of all the Bhinnashtakavargas. It provides an overall picture of the strength and influence of the planets across the entire chart. The Sarvashtakavarga score of each house is the sum of the points given by all eight factors (seven planets plus the Ascendant).

Calculating Ashtakavarga

The calculation of Ashtakavarga involves several steps.

Determining Bindus and Rekhas: Each planet evaluates its position relative to the positions of other planets and the Ascendant. Based on this evaluation, it assigns Bindus (benefic points) or Rekhas (malefic points) to each house.

Creating Bhinnashtakavarga Charts: Separate charts are created for each planet, showing the distribution of Bindus and Rekhas across the twelve houses.

Summing Up for Sarvashtakavarga: The individual scores from all Bhinnashtakavarga charts are summed to create the Sarvashtakavarga chart, which provides a comprehensive overview of planetary strengths and weaknesses.

Interpretation and Applications

Ashtakavarga provides several valuable insights into a horoscope.

Predicting Planetary Periods and Transits: By analyzing the scores in Ashtakavarga, astrologers can predict the outcomes of planetary periods (Dashas) and transits. Higher scores generally indicate more favorable results, while lower scores suggest challenges.

Evaluating House Strengths: The Sarvashtakavarga chart highlights which houses in the horoscope are strong or weak. This helps in understanding areas of life that will be more successful or problematic.

Auspicious Timing (Muhurta): Ashtakavarga is used to determine auspicious times for important events. High scores in relevant houses can suggest more favorable periods for activities like marriage, travel, or starting a business.

Remedial Measures: By identifying weak points in the chart, Ashtakavarga can guide the selection of appropriate remedial measures, such as mantras, gemstones, or specific rituals, to mitigate negative influences.

Practical Example

To illustrate the application of Ashtakavarga, consider an individual with a strong Bhinnashtakavarga score for Jupiter in the 5th house (indicating intelligence, children, and creativity). If the Sarvashtakavarga score for the 5th house is also high, this person is likely to experience positive outcomes in these areas during Jupiter’s Dasha or favorable transits.

Conversely, if Saturn’s Bhinnashtakavarga for the 7th house (marriage and partnerships) is low, and the Sarvashtakavarga score for the 7th house is also low, challenges in relationships might be anticipated. Remedies can be suggested to mitigate these difficulties.

Summing up 

Ashtakavarga is a powerful and intricate tool in Vedic astrology that adds depth to the analysis of a horoscope. By evaluating the interplay of planets through Bindus and Rekhas, it provides a nuanced understanding of planetary strengths and weaknesses. This system is invaluable for making precise predictions, evaluating life areas, selecting auspicious times, and suggesting effective remedies. For those seeking a comprehensive and detailed astrological analysis, Ashtakavarga offers a unique and insightful approach.