How to read Navamsa chart, नवमांश चार्ट कैसे पढ़ें

The Navamsa chart, also referred to as Navamsa Kundali or D9 chart, holds significant importance within the realm of Vedic astrology. It serves as a crucial tool for gaining insights into spiritual tendencies, marital prospects, and the broader trajectory of one’s destiny. Proficiency in deciphering this chart can substantially augment the precision and richness of astrological forecasts. Hence, this article aims to explore the nuances involved in interpreting the Navamsa chart and revealing the nuanced layers of its significance.

Navamsa Chart (नवमांश चार्ट) by Astrologer K. M. Sinha 

What is the Navamsa Chart?

The Navamsa chart is derived from the main birth chart or Rasi chart. It consists of nine divisions or segments, each spanning 3° 20′ of the zodiac. These divisions correspond to specific aspects of a person’s life, such as marriage, career etc. Additionally, the arrangement of planets within specific houses provides nuanced information about corresponding areas of life, such as partnerships or spiritual pursuits. Aspect relationships between planets further elucidate mutual influences and potential outcomes.

Importance of Navamsa Chart:

Marriage and Relationships: The Navamsa chart is particularly crucial for analyzing marriage and relationships. It represents the quality of marital life, spouse’s nature, and compatibility between partners.

Spiritual Growth: It reflects one’s spiritual inclinations, dharma, and karmic evolution. Planetary placements in the Navamsa chart indicate spiritual strengths and weaknesses.

Strength of Planets: The strength and dignity of planets in the Navamsa chart influence their effects on various life domains. Benefic planets in favorable positions enhance positive outcomes, while malefic planets may cause challenges.

Divisional Charts: Navamsa is one of the sixteen divisional charts in Vedic astrology, each focusing on different aspects of life. It is considered the most important after the Rasi chart and offers deeper insights into specific life domains

READ ALSO   Budh Aditya Yoga – Formation and Benefits

How to read Navamsa chart?

Understanding the Fundamentals:

The Navamsa chart is created by dividing each of the Zodiac signs into nine equal segments, resulting in 108 divisions known as Navamsas. Accurate birth details, including date, time, and place, are crucial for constructing the Navamsa chart.

Building the Navamsa Chart:

Commence by setting up the birth chart (Rasi chart) using the provided birth details. Subsequently, divide each sign into nine equal parts, with each segment representing one Navamsa. Place the planets in the Navamsa chart based on their positions in the Rasi chart. For instance, if a planet is positioned at 10 degrees in Aries in the Rasi chart, it will be situated in the third Navamsa of Aries in the Navamsa chart.

Analyzing Planetary Positions:

Evaluate the planetary placements in the Navamsa chart akin to the birth chart. Observe the positions of planets in their respective signs, such as their own (Swakshetra), exalted (Uccha), debilitated (Neecha), or in friendly/enemy signs. Take note of any conjunctions, aspects, or unique combinations formed by planets in the Navamsa chart, as they can signify distinct influences on various aspects of life.

Understanding the Significance of Navamsa Lagna (Ascendant):

The Navamsa Lagna represents the soul and influences the overall strength and quality of an individual’s life. Analyze its placement, aspects, and conjunctions with other planets to gain insights into various aspects of life, including personality traits, health, and relationships.

Marriage and Relationships:

The Navamsa chart holds particular importance in analyzing marriage and relationships. Pay attention to the placement of Venus, the planet signifying marriage. Examine the 7th house in the Navamsa chart along with its ruling planet to assess marriage prospects, timing, and characteristics of the spouse. Additionally, analyze the 2nd and 11th houses for insights into wealth and fulfillment of desires related to marriage.

READ ALSO   कुण्डली के सभी भावों में लग्नेश का फल

Spiritual Growth and Dharma:

The Navamsa chart provides insights into spiritual growth and one’s righteous duties (dharma). Assess the placement of benefic planets like Jupiter and Venus for indications of spiritual inclinations. Scrutinize the 9th house, representing spirituality and dharma, along with its ruler and any planets located therein.

Dasa (Planetary Period) Analysis:

Utilize the Navamsa chart in conjunction with the Dasa system to predict significant life events and periods. Analyze the influence of planets in the Navamsa chart during specific Dasa periods to comprehend their impact on various life events.

Seeking Guidance from a Vedic Astrologer:

Interpreting a Navamsa chart necessitates a profound understanding of Vedic astrology principles. If you lack familiarity with Vedic astrology or find interpreting the Navamsa chart challenging, consider seeking guidance from an experienced Vedic astrologer for valuable insights and assistance.

What does each house represents in a Navamsa chat?

1st house – Reflects the individual’s desire for marriage, indicating their role in relationship dynamics and the overall harmony of the marriage.

2nd house – Signifies the wealth acquired through marriage and the financial prosperity gained from the union. It also indicates whether the individual will inherit their spouse’s properties and the size of the family unit they may live in.

3rd house – Represents the effort required to sustain the marriage, highlighting the communication and cooperation needed for a successful union.

4th house – Indicates the condition of the home life in marriage, reflecting the level of peace, comfort, and happiness experienced by the couple.

5th house – Reflects the romantic and enjoyable aspects of the marital relationship, showcasing the moments of fun and intimacy shared between partners.


6th house – Symbolizes potential debts incurred through marriage, as well as the likelihood of divorce and conflicts between spouses.

7th house – Represents the type of spouse one may attract, their personality traits, and the level of support and affection in the relationship.

8th house – Reflects the longevity of the marriage and the joint assets accumulated over time, indicating the stability and endurance of the union.

9th house – Indicates the fortune and luck surrounding the marriage, as well as the strength of the individual’s destiny in marital matters.

10th house – Represents the reputation of the marriage within society and how the relationship is perceived by others.

11th house – Reflects the hopes, wishes, and desires of the spouse, as well as the individual’s ability to fulfill their partner’s aspirations.

12th house – Signifies the pleasures and challenges experienced within the marriage, including foreign travel, spiritual growth, and potential separations or disputes.


The Navamsa chart stands as a testament to the profound wisdom embedded within the fabric of Vedic astrology. Through its meticulous analysis, astrologers can unlock the hidden mysteries of life, guiding individuals towards fulfillment, harmony, and spiritual awakening. As we delve deeper into the realms of the Navamsa chart, let us embrace its profound insights with reverence and gratitude, recognizing it as a timeless beacon illuminating the path towards self-discovery and enlightenment.